Council updates the checklist of nations around the world, distinctive administrative areas and other entities and territorial authorities for which vacation limits should really be lifted

Alison Rombough

Next a overview less than the advice on the gradual lifting of the short term constraints on non-vital journey into the EU, the Council current the checklist of nations, distinctive administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which journey constraints need to be lifted. As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will proceed to be reviewed every single two months and, as the situation might be, up-to-date.

Based mostly on the conditions and circumstances set out in the recommendation, as from 18 June 2021 member states should little by little lift the journey limits at the external borders for residents of the next 3rd nations around the world:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United States of The united states
  • China, matter to confirmation of reciprocity

Journey restrictions need to also be step by step lifted for the specific administrative regions of China Hong Kong and  Macao. The issue of reciprocity for these special administrative locations has been lifted.

Less than the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognised as states by at the very least just one member state, journey restrictions for Taiwan should really also be steadily lifted.

Citizens of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be deemed as EU citizens for the purpose of this suggestion.

The criteria to ascertain the 3rd countries for which the existing travel restriction ought to be lifted were being up-to-date on 20 Might 2021. They protect the epidemiological circumstance and total response  to COVID-19, as properly as the dependability of the offered facts and info resources. Reciprocity must also be taken into account on a circumstance by case foundation.

Schengen linked countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take portion in this advice.


On 30 June 2020 the Council adopted a recommendation on the gradual lifting of the short term limits on non-necessary journey into the EU. This recommendation included an first checklist of international locations for which member states must start off lifting the vacation restrictions at the exterior borders. The checklist is reviewed each two months and, as the case may possibly be, current.

On 20 Might, the Council adopted an amending recommendation to react to the ongoing vaccination strategies by introducing sure waivers for vaccinated individuals and easing the requirements to elevate limitations for 3rd international locations. At the identical time, the amendments take into account the attainable hazards posed by new variants by placing out an unexpected emergency brake system to promptly react to the emergence of a variant of fascination or concern in a 3rd nation.

The Council suggestion is not a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the member states continue to be responsible for applying the content of the advice. They may possibly, in total transparency, carry only progressively travel limitations in the direction of nations outlined.

A Member State really should not choose to elevate the travel limitations for non-shown 3rd countries in advance of this has been determined in a coordinated method.

Go to the conference web site

Next Post

The 27 Most affordable Locations To Travel This Summer season

As far more and additional Americans are receiving vaccinated, they are traveling in droves. In accordance to the journey app, searches for resorts are up a whopping 130% since the starting of 2021, and AAA is predicting that the vacation quantity for the upcoming the Fourth of July holiday […]